Page 1 of 14 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Various career options in Finance

Should I specialize in Finance?

I am a MBA student at Bangalore...I have equal knowledge of finance and marketing...so that's basically nothing :lol: as I was at TCS before the MBA course.

So my question may be a bit stupid...but I'll still ask...
    I am not an extrovert and my people skills are not so good. So I think that I'll not be able to excel in marketing...as it involves good communication skills etc. I am an engineer and my quant skills are good. So I am able to work with no.s which is useful in finance.

That's the entire logic of choosing finance over marketing.
    What should I do? Or how should I decide which branch I should specialize in?

Re: Should I specialize in Finance?

I think, it is the basic psyche of all finance aspirants. All the finance aspirants like to think numbers more than english words most of their working hours. At the same time finance is the appropriate platform to excel in computation and quantitative abilities. For this reason also engineers are more prone to study finance than marketing or SCM etc.

Angry Re: Should I specialize in Finance?

It's a myth that if you don't have good soft skills then you can suceed in finance. Just maths is never enough.

Marketing also requires good quant skills for analytics and research. Marketing always doesn't mean selling.

Infact if you are in investment banking you'll have to convince Board of Directors and CEOs for M&A deals. If you are in investment management, you'll have to sell your fund to potential investors. So lot of communication required in finance too!